How to disable guest session in Ubuntu 13.04

Guest session in Ubuntu

  • You need to run a simple command
  • Reversing the change is extremely easy

La guest session de Ubuntu It can be useful in certain circumstances - such as when an acquaintance asks for our laptop to read their mail or something like that - since it allows anyone to access the system without having to enter a username or password. However, if we don't use it too much we may want to deactivate it.

Make the guest session disappear from the authentication screen it's pretty straightforward.

In Ubunlog we had already written an entry about it in which to deactivate guest account it was enough to edit the file "lightdm.conf" located in the path "/ etc / lightdm /" changing the parameter "allow-guest = true" to "allow-guest = false".

Well, this time we will deactivate the guest session in another way, with a small command. Thus, to deactivate the guest session in Ubuntu 13.04 we simply open a console and enter:

sudo /usr/lib/lightdm/lightdm-set-defaults -l false

We close all the important documents that we have open and proceed to restart LightDM (the graphical server will restart):

sudo restart lightdm

And that's it, the guest session will no longer appear on the Ubuntu welcome screen:

Guest session in Ubuntu 13.04

If we later regret it and want it to appear again, we simply revert the change with the command:

sudo /usr/lib/lightdm/lightdm-set-defaults -l true

More information - More about Ubuntu 13.04 at Ubunlog, Disabling the guest session in Ubuntu 12.10
Source - It's FOSS


The content of the article adheres to our principles of editorial ethics. To report an error click here!.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

*

*

  1. Responsible for the data: Miguel Ángel Gatón
  2. Purpose of the data: Control SPAM, comment management.
  3. Legitimation: Your consent
  4. Communication of the data: The data will not be communicated to third parties except by legal obligation.
  5. Data storage: Database hosted by Occentus Networks (EU)
  6. Rights: At any time you can limit, recover and delete your information.